The GB Boxing squad competes in the forms of boxing sanctioned by the Internal Olympic Committee (IOC) and World Boxing, the latter is a new governing body recently for the sport.

The male and female members of the GB Boxing squad participate in AOB. To-date no-one from the GB Boxing squad has competed in APB.

Open Boxing:

Formerly known as amateur or Olympic boxing, this is the most common form of boxing within the IOC and World Boxing and is the one used at the Olympic Games and World and European Championships.  It is also the one practiced in the 1000+ boxing clubs in Great Britain that are affiliated to the national governing bodies (NGBs) in England (England Boxing), Scotland (Boxing Scotland) and Wales (Welsh Boxing).

All bouts take place over 3×3 minutes rounds for men and women.  Competitors wear vests; women wear headguards, but since 2013 these have been removed for men for senior and elite competitions.

Three judges are used and bouts are scored using the ‘10 point must’ system.  The judges will score each round, and at the end of the bout the boxer who is deemed the winner by the majority of judges will win the bout.  Bouts can also be stopped by the referee in the event of injury or a serious imbalance between the boxers.

There are 13 weight classes for men and 12 for women following changes made in August 2021.  The weight classes are:

Male Weight Classes Female Weight Classes
Minimumweight – 46-48kg Minimumweight – 45-48kg
Flyweight – 51kg Light-flyweight – 50kg
Bantamweight – 54kg Flyweight – 52kg
Feathweight – 57kg Bantamweight – 54kg
Lightweight – 60kg Featherweight – 57kg
Light-welterweight – 63.5kg Lightweight – 60kg
Welterweight – 67kg Light-welterweight – 63kg
Light-middleweight – 71kg Welterweight – 66kg
Middleweight – 75kg Light-middleweight – 70kg
Light-heavyweight – 80kg Middleweight – 75kg
Cruiserweight – 86kg Light-heavyweight – 81kg
Heavyweight – 92kg Heavyweight – 81kg+
Super-heavyweight – 92kg+

The World Boxing rules and governance can be found at the link below: