Three win gold at Boxam as squad returns from Spain with nine medals

By 20th November 2023News

BOXERS from Great Britain have returned from this year’s Boxam tournament in Alicante, Spain with nine medals, including three golds for Shona Whitwell, Lewis Richardson and Isaac Okoh.

There were silver medals for Ivy Jane Smith, Savannah Stubley, Kerry Davis, Patris Mughalzai and Garan Croft whilst George Crotty took bronze.

England’s Shona Whitwell was the first member of the GB Boxing squad to clinch gold on the tournament’s penultimate day of action when she defeated the host nation’s Sheila Martinez Perez via a 3:2 split decision.

The victory was the lightweight’s third bout of the competition, having previously faced and got the better of both Morocco’s Nisrine Amine and Holland’s 2022 world bronze medallist, Chelsey Hejinen.

Next to claim their place at the top of the podium, this time on the competition’s final day, was middleweight Lewis Richardson, who despite almost a year out of the ring, the 26-year-old continued where he left off having won gold at the Tammer in his last outing.

After being on the right side of 3:2 split victories over Spain’s Didac Gomes and Italy’s Remo Salvati, Richardson put in a convincing unanimous display to beat Wales’ Orlando Holley-Sotomi and earn his latest gold medal.

The Colchester boxer was also named Best Technical male boxer of the tournament.

The final boxer to win gold in Alicante and representing GB Boxing for the first time since joining the World Class Programme (WCP) was Isaac Okoh.

He met with Croatia’s Marko Remji in the cruiserweight final in what was his first bout of the competition due to low participation numbers.

Okoh didn’t let the long wait to box impact him in anyway though, dispatching of his opponent in style via unanimous points decision to be crowned champion of the 86kg division.

Five other members of the GB Boxing squad competed at the Boxam, but all just missed out on the medals stages, they were: Elise Glynn, Hamza Mehmood, Jack Dryden, Huey Malone and Patrick Hewitt.