Tammer Time for team of eight

By 17th November 2017News

GB Boxing have a team of eight competing in the annual Tammer tournament.

The international tournament takes place in Tampere, Finland and has been held since 1977.

Team GB are a regular entry for the Finnish tournament, having traditionally performed well here.

Last year the team secured an impressive six medals, along with winning the award for the best technical boxer of the tournament.

Leeds boxer, Conor Loftus will be returning to the tournament for a second consecutive year. The light welterweight will be looking to move up in the medal table, after bringing home a bronze medal last year.

He is joined by teammates Scott Forrest who has previously medalled at the tournament in 2013 (bronze) and 2014 (silver). Middleweight, John Docherty will also be returning to the tournament, after making it to the quarterfinals in 2016.

Boxing at the tournament for the first time is flyweight; Blane Hyland, lightweight; Mickey McDonagh, welterweight; Cyrus Pattinson and middleweight; Jordan Reynolds.

Making his international debut for GB Boxing will be light heavyweight, George Crotty.

52kg Blane Hyland
60kg Mickey McDonagh
64kg Conor Loftus
69kg Cyrus Pattinson
75kg Jordan Reynolds
75kg John Docherty
81kg George Crotty
91kg Scott Forrest

Results and updates on the progress of the team at the Tammer tournament will be posted at www.gbboxing.org.uk and on the GB Boxing twitter feed @gbboxing.

Schedule and results

Thursday 16 November 2017
75kg Jordan Reynolds (ENG) beat 75kg Kyran Jones (WAL) by unanimous decision
75kg John Docherty (SCO) beat 75kg Muhammed Abdilrasoon (FIN) by unanimous decision

Friday 17 November 2017
Afternoon Session
64kg Conor Loftus (ENG) beat 64kg Grigoriy Nikolaychuk (RUS) via split decision 3-1
81kg George Crotty (ENG) beat 81kg Paulius Zujevas (LTS) via unanimous decision
91kg Scott Forrest (SCO) beat 91kg Gennadi Stserbin (EST) via RSC round 3
Evening Session
60kg Mickey McDonagh (WAL) beat 60kg Nenad Stancic (GER) via split decision (4:1)
75kg Jordan Reynolds (ENG) lost to 75kg Arthur Ohanyan (GER) via split decision (3:2)
75kg John Docherty (SCO) lost to 75kg Michael Nevin (IRL) via split decision (3:2 – bout stopped R2 due to cut)

Saturday 18 November 2017
Afternoon session
52kg Blane Hyland (ENG) lost to 52kg Aqeel Ahmed (SCO) via unanimous decision
64kg Connor Loftus (ENG) beat 64kg Wayne Kelly (IRL) via split decision (3:2)
81kg George Crotty (ENG) beat 81kg Boris Crighton (SCO) via unanimous decision
Evening session
60kg Mickey McDonagh (WAL) beat 60kg Arslan Khataev (FIN) via RSC-I round 1
69kg Cyrus Pattinson (ENG) beat 69kg Saimonas Banys (LTU) via unanimous decision
91kg Scott Forrest (SCO) beat 91kg Paul Andrei Aradoiae (ROU) via unanimous decision

Sunday 19 November 2017
60kg Mickey McDonagh (WAL) beat 60kg George Bates (IRL) via unanimous decision
64kg Conor Loftus (ENG) beat 64kg Yanis Mehah (FRA) via split decision (4:1)
69kg Cyrus Pattinson (ENG) beat 69kg Kieran Molloy (IRL) via RSC-I Round 1 (Previous cut)
81kg George Crotty (ENG) beat 81kg Tony Browne (IRL) via unanimous decision
91kg Scott Forrest (SCO) beat 91kg Toni Filipi (CRO) via unanimous decision

Medal Winners
5 Gold 
60kg Mickey McDonagh (WAL)
64kg Conor Loftus (ENG)
69kg Cyrus Pattinson (ENG)
81kg George Crotty (ENG)
91kg Scott Forrest (SCO)
1 Bronze
52kg Blane Hyland (ENG)

Trophy Winners
Best Boxer – 91kg Scott Forrest (SCO)
Best Technical Boxer – 60kg Mickey McDonagh (WAL)