Final line-up announced for GB Boxing Championships 2016

By 7th December 2016News

The final line-up for this year’s GB Boxing Championships has been announced.

The Championship will be held at the English Institute of Sport in Sheffield on Thursday 8 December 2016 (doors open at 6.30pm, boxing begins at 7pm).

Tickets are on sale until 5pm on Wednesday 7 December at priced £10 (adults) and £7.50 (concessions).  They will also be available on the door on the night priced £20 and £10.

The GB Championship aims to uncover the best young male and female talent in Great Britain and pits the winners of the 2016 Elite Three Nations competition (which is contested by the winners of the 2016 National Championships in England, Scotland and Wales) against a selected boxer from the GB Boxing squad to identify the GB Boxing Champion for 2016.

If a boxer that is not currently part of the GB Boxing squad is victorious they will secure an assessment with the squad and an opportunity to join the World Class Performance Programme (WCPP) as a funded athlete.

Changes to this Thursday’s final line-up have been made after some boxers were forced to withdraw through injury.

At light welterweight (64kg), Sean Spence of Scotland was unable to take his place and has been replaced by Martin McDonagh of Rumbles ABC who will now face Sheffield’s Dalton Smith in the final.

At light-flyweight (49kg), Aqueel Ahmed of Scotland has withdrawn due to illness, so there will no contest in this weight category.

The same applies at flyweight where the final between GB Boxing’s Will Cawley and the Three Nations Champion, Reece McFadden, will not go ahead after Cawley sustained a last minute injury during training and McFadden fell ill.

The Championships Finals will now feature eight men’s bouts and three contests between women.

The full updated line-up is:

51kg – Helen Jones (WAL) (blue corner) v Megan Gordon (SCO)
54kg – Ramla Ali (ENG) v Stephanie Kernachan (SCO)
56kg – Joshua John (WAL) v Jack Hillier (ENG)
60kg – Lynn Calder (Scot) v Crystal Barker (GB)
60kg – Cory Oregan (ENG) v Calum French (GB)
64kg – Martin McDonagh (ENG) v Dalton Smith (GB)
69kg – Carl Fail (ENG) v Conor Loftus (GB)
75kg – Lewis Richardson (ENG) v John Docherty (GB)
81kg – Boris Chrighton (SCO) v Tom Whittaker-Hart (GB)
91kg – Scott Forest (SCO) v Cheavon Clarke (ENG)
91+kg – Soloman Dacres (ENG) v Daniel Dubois (GB)