Line-up announced for 2016 GB Boxing Championships in Sheffield

By 21st October 2016News

The official line up for this year’s GB Boxing Championships has been announced.

The Championship will be held at the English Institute of Sport in Sheffield on Thursday 8 December 2016 (doors open at 6.30pm, boxing begins at 7pm).

Tickets are now on sale at an early bird discount until 27 November 2016 and can be purchased at

Anyone that purchases a ticket at the discounted rate will be entered into a free prize draw to win a boxing glove signed by Team GB’s Olympians from the 2016 Olympic Games.

The GB Boxing Championships aims to uncover the best young male and female talent in Great Britain and pits the winners of the 2016 Elite Three Nations competition (which is contested by the winners of the 2016 National Championships in England, Scotland and Wales) against a selected boxer from the GB Boxing squad to identify the GB Boxing Champion for 2016.

If a boxer that is not currently part of the GB Boxing squad is victorious they will secure an assessment with the squad and an opportunity to join the World Class Performance Programme (WCPP) as a funded athlete.

Matt Holt, Chief Executive of GB Boxing said: “These championships will showcase the best up-and-coming boxers from across Scotland, England and Wales, and provide them with a chance to show their skills against the boxers in the GB squad.

“It will act as a culmination of the domestic season and build on both the national association finals and GB Elite Three Nations, creating an opportunity for boxers to participate in competition that could see them secure an assessment to be considered for the GB Boxing squad.”

The competition will be held at 10 men’s weights and five for women and the full line-up is:



51kg – Lynsey Holdaway (Wales) v Lisa Whiteside (GB)
54kg – Rachael MacKensie (Eng) v Stephanie Kernachan (Sco)
60kg – Charlene Jones (Wales) v Crystal Barker (GB)
64kg – Rosie Eccles (Wales) v Cherelle Brown (Eng)
75kg – Lauren Price (Wales) v Natasha Gale (GB)


49kg – Aqeel Ahmed (Scot) v Harvey Horn (GB)
52kg – Reece McFadden (Scot) v Will Cawley (GB)
56kg – Lee McGregor (Scot) v Chris Bourke (GB)
60kg – Cory Oregan (Eng) v Calum French (GB)
64kg – Sean Spence (Scot) v Dalton Smith (GB)
69kg – Carl Fail (Eng) v Conor Loftus (GB)
75kg – Lewis Richardson (Eng) v John Docherty (GB)
81kg – Boris Chrighton (Scot) v Tom Whittaker-hart (GB)
91kg – Scott Forest (Scot) v Chevron Clarke (Eng)
91+kg – Joshua Quailey (Eng) v Daniel Dubois (GB)